Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages

Civil Law

Civil Law is the backbone of any legal order and is founded primarily on law and on custom. In addition to the Civil Code, there are also Special Civil Laws.

Civil Law is divided into five sectors:

General Principles

The General Principles of Law regulate important matters, such as the legal capacity of a minor, challenging an act due to error, fraud or threat, the invalidity of an act, regulation of power of attorney, statutes of limitations on claims, and prescription periods.

Law of Obligations (Contract Law)

The Law of Obligations (Contract Law) regulates legal relationships that aim primarily either to the exchange and circulation of assets (contracts of sale, donation, leasing, subcontracting, loans and loans-for-use, etc.), or to the indemnification of damages or other irregular asset transfers (compensation due to injury or death, reimbursement for unjust enrichment, etc.).

Family Law

Family Law regulates relations between members of a family that is created either by marriage or by registered partnership or by free union, as well as matters of adoption and guardianship (kinship, divorce, alimony and child support, parent and grandparent communication rights with offspring, marriage acquisitions, sex change, establishment of single-parent family, etc.).

Property Law

Property Law regulates the property rights of natural or legal persons or in favor of natural or legal persons over movable or immovable property (ownership, adverse possession, mortgage, charge on property, collateral, easements, distribution of common property, expropriation, etc.).

Inheritance Law

Inheritance Law regulates matters related to a person’s death (last will and testament, reserved portions, acceptance or waiver of succession, certificate of succession, executor of a will, etc.).